Racism vs. Money

September 7, 2009

A black man walks into a clothing store, heads to the back, walks up to the jewelry counter and looks for a clerk that isn’t there. This day in age, there are cameras watching him, but not to long ago workers of the store would watch or even follow. What wasn’t said was that the black man had tattoos, wearing baggy cloths, walked with a street attitude, and his need for attention. Lets take a white man and do the same. Would he be watched? I know so. I’m a white man and I have a tendency to not dress right for an occasion. I don’t have tattoos, but I do dress like a bum. It’s not that I can’t afford it, I like to be comfortable. I grew up in rough neighborhoods learning to deal with things a child should never have to deal with. I walk with an attitude, because I understand it and its how it’s always been. My wife says I scare her sometimes, just watching me in public places. My daughters teenage guy friends fear me, yet, I’ve never said anything to them. It’s an attitude, that I can’t really explain, but if you’ve lived in rough places, you know what I mean. When I’m at work or places that I know don’t get this, I change my stature to please the people around me. However on the weekends, I go back to my old self, dress down and comfortable again. I’ve been in many stores where the employees, white people, follow me or will not even help me when I’m looking for specific things. Then I hear on the news of a black woman screaming racism for the same thing happening to her. Now, I’m not saying there isn’t racism. There is and it comes from all sides. I’m just saying why is the racism word thrown so much when majority of the time the only real issue is that person isn’t the color of money. The rich have a tendency to make people feel below them, because this makes them feel like they are better in some sick way. It’s just the way it is. I walk out of a store when my money isn’t good enough for this class, why can’t everyone? People don’t have to always make their issues know to everyone and how right they are. Move on, it sucks, and no one cares.

It goes back to the old saying, if you looks like a duck, walk likes a duck, then most likely it is a duck. If you wanted to be treated like royalty, then you best dress, walk, and talk like royalty. If that’s truly what your looking for.

Leave a Reply

